## BOAT EXCISE ABATEMENT APPLICATION

General Laws Chapter 60B

RETURN APPLICATION FORM AND DOCUMENTATION TO: Board of Assessors

INSTRUCTIONS. To apply for an abatement (or refund if **BILL INFORMATION:** excise has been paid), complete this form and provide the specified documentation. Fiscal Year \_\_\_\_\_ Tax Date \_\_\_/ \_\_\_ Issue Date \_\_\_/ \_\_\_ Bill Number \_\_\_\_\_ Abatement applications must be received by the assessors Registration/Documentation No. \_\_\_\_\_ Boat Name \_\_\_\_\_ Model Year Length within three years after the excise was due, or one year after the excise was paid, whichever is later. To preserve your right Name (as shown on bill) to appeal, you must file on time. By law, assessors may only act on late applications in limited circumstances where the Address (as shown on bill) excise is still unpaid and their decision in those cases is final. State Zip Filing an application does not stay the collection of your excise bill. To avoid interest, charges, a penalty of \$20.00, or Mailing Address (if different) City/Town 20% of the excise, whichever is greater, and collection action. State including loss of mooring or docking privileges, you must pay the bill in full within 60 days of its issue date. You will receive a refund if an abatement is granted. REASON YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AN ABATEMENT: NOTE. You are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel your registration and retain ownership of the boat, or (2) Check where applicable You must provide this documentation change the registration or location of the boat to another Massachusetts city or town, during the fiscal year. ☐ Boat sold or traded Bill of sale Boat total loss Insurance settlement letter Return this completed form to: Board of Assessors • \_\_\_\_ of \_\_\_\_ ☐ Boat repossessed Notice from lienholder Board of Assessors at ( ) ☐ Boat junked Receipt from junk yard ☐ Boat stolen Police report ----- Do not write below this line ☐ Boat mooring/registration/location Date of move: / / Year \_\_\_\_\_ changed from billing city/town Proof of new mooring place for summer of fiscal year of bill, or proof place boat located Valuation \_\_\_\_\_ or registered changed before July 1 of tax year of bill NOTE: You are not entitled to an abatement if you registered or moved the boat Excise Assessed Abatement Allowed elsewhere within Massachusetts during the fiscal year of the excise tax. Adjusted Excise ☐ Moved out of state Date of move: / / Cert. #\_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_/\_\_/\_\_\_ If registered, registration from new state or country and proof of cancellation or expiration Assessor \_\_\_\_\_ of MA registration Assessor Exemption Type: \_\_\_\_\_ Documentation establishing qualifications Explain: Relevant documentation □ Other Form Approved by Commissioner of Revenue Subscribed under the penalties of perjury (STF 126-BE)(12/2004) Signature: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_ Telephone: