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GOVERNOR LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

ORDER REQUIRING EARLY CLOSING FOR CERTAIN BUSINESSES AND
ACTIVITIES, LIMITING HOURS FOR ALCOHOL AND
ADULT USE CANNABIS SALES, AND MODIFYING CHAPTER 138
LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

COVID-19 Order No. 53

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, I, Charles D. Baker, Governor of the Commonwealth
of Massachusetts, acting pursuant to the powers provided by Chapter 639 of the Acts of 1950
and Section 2A of Chapter 17 of the General Laws, declared that there now exists in the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts a state of emergency due to the outbreak of the 2019 novel
Coronavirus (“COVID-197);

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the COVID-19 outbreak was characterized as a
pandemic by the World Health Organization;

WHEREAS, the Federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (“CDC”) have
advised that COVID-19 is spread mainly by person-to-person contact and that the best means of
slowing the spread of the virus is through practicing social distancing and by minimizing
personal contact with large groups and with environments where this potentially deadly virus
may be transmitted including, in particular, spaces that present enhanced risks because of large
number of persons present or passing through who may spread the virus through respiratory
activity or surface contacts;

WHEREAS, on March 23, 2020, in order to restrict all non-essential person-to-person
contact and movement outside the home and reduce opportunities for spreading the COVID-19
virus within the Commonwealth, I issued COVID-19 Order No. 13, which temporarily closed the
brick-and-mortar premises of businesses and organizations that do not provide COVID-19
Essential Services;
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WHEREAS, in response to gradual improvements in the public health data, commencing
with COVID-19 Order No. 33 issued on May 18, 2020 and continuing through COVID-19 Order
No. 51 issued on September 29, 2020, I issued a series of executive orders that designated certain
businesses and other organizations as Phase I, II, III, or IV enterprises and initiated a
progressive, phased plan for re-opening workplaces and other facilities across the
Commonwealth;

WHEREAS, the CDC, the Department of Public Health, and other public health
authorities continue to improve their understanding of how COVID-19 is spread, where the risk
of spread is greatest, and how best to mitigate the risk of transmission, all of which permits
periodic adjustments to safety measures;

WHEREAS, the Commonwealth has seen an increase in cases since its lowest point in
July, and there has been a steep increase in cases during the month of October. On September
26, the 7-day daily average of new confirmed cases was 385, whereas as of October 31, the 7-
day daily average of new confirmed cases was 1,214;

WHEREAS, the Commonwealth’s COVID-19-related hospitalizations and COVID-19
Intensive Care Unit (ICU) census have more than doubled over the past 2 months. On August
31, the number of individuals in the hospital with a confirmed or suspected case of COVID-19
was 290, whereas on November 1, the number of individuals in the hospital with a confirmed or
suspected case of COVID-19 was 613. The COVID-19 ICU census was 47 on September 9,
whereas on November 1, the COVID-19 ICU census was 113, with 55 individuals intubated. As
of November 1, 67% of hospital beds were full, and during the month of October a number of
hospitals reported using surge capacity;

WHEREAS, the public health data indicate that informal social activity is contributing to
the rise in cases, as evidenced by the fact that household transmission and social gatherings
represent 88% of all new and ongoing COVID-19 clusters identified as of September 27;

WHEREAS, left unchecked, the current COVID-19 case growth poses a risk to the
Commonwealth’s healthcare system, and intervention is warranted to moderate case growth and
preserve hospital capacity;

WHEREAS, the Department of Public Health has today issued a Stay at Home Advisory
that urges all persons in the Commonwealth to remain at home between the hours of 10:00 PM
and 5:00 AM in order to slow the spread of the virus, preserve hospital capacity, and save lives;

WHEREAS, certain establishments that hold licenses issued pursuant to section 12 of
chapter 138 of the General Laws (a “section 12 license™) authorizing the sale of alcoholic
beverages for on-premises consumption remain closed to the public because of business
disruptions caused by COVID-19, and certain others are not permitted to open to the public until
Phase IV of the Commonwealth’s Re-Opening Plan; and
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WHEREAS, sections 7, 8, and 8A of Chapter 639 of the Acts of 1950 authorize the
Governor, during the effective period of a declared emergency, to exercise any and all authority
over persons and property necessary or expedient for meeting the state of emergency, including
but not limited to authority over public assemblages in order to protect the health and safety of
persons, regulating the sale of articles of food and household articles, variance of the terms and
conditions of licenses, permits or certificates of registration issued by the Commonwealth or any
of its agencies or political subdivisions, and regulation of the business of insurance and
protection of the interests of the holders of insurance policies and contracts and of beneficiaries
thereunder and of the interest of the public in connection therewith;

NOW, THEREFORE, I hereby Order the following:

1. Mandatory Night-Time Closing Period for Certain Businesses and Activities

Effective at 12:01 AM on November 6, 2020, all businesses, facilities, or activities
included within the categories listed below must close their premises to the public each day not
later than 9:30 PM and may not re-open their premises to the public before 5:00 AM the
following day (the “mandatory closing period”). Except as otherwise specifically permitted
below, during the daily mandatory closing period, businesses, facilities, or activities within the
categories listed below may not admit customers, patrons, or members of the public to their
premises or otherwise offer, provide, or permit in-person, on-premises services or activities.
Operators of affected businesses, facilities, or activities may keep their premises open to
employees and other workers during the mandatory closing period and otherwise conduct
business activities and operations that do not involve admitting customers, patrons, or members
of the public to their premises.

Businesses, facilities, and activities subject to the daily mandatory closing period:

1. Restaurants, provided however that restaurants may offer food and non-alcoholic
beverages for take-out and by delivery during the mandatory closing period

2. Arcades and Other Indoor and Outdoor Recreation

3. Indoor and Outdoor Events

4. Indoor and Outdoor Theaters, Movie Theaters, and Performance Venues

5. Drive-In Movie Theaters '

6. Youth and Adult Amateur Sports Activities

7. Golf Facilities

8. Recreational Boating and Boating Businesses

9. Outdoor Recreational Experiences and Educational Activities

10. Casinos, Horse Racing Tracks, and Simulcast Facilities

11. Driving and Flight Schools

12. Zoos, Botanical Gardens, Wildlife Reserves, and Nature Centers

13. Close Contact Personal Services

14. Fitness Centers and Health Clubs

15. Indoor and Outdoor Pools (Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pools)
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16. Museums/Cultural & Historical Facilities/Guided Tours

Categories of businesses, facilities, and activities listed above correspond to enterprise sectors
established in Exhibit A to COVID-19 Order No. 51 and further defined in Sector-Specific
COVID-19 Safety Rules and related guidance documents and protocols issued and administered
by the Department of Public Health, the Department of Labor Standards, the Executive Office of
Energy and Environmental Affairs, and the Massachusetts Gaming Commission. Those agencies
are each authorized and directed to amend all relevant rules, guidance documents, and protocols
to incorporate the mandatory closing period requirement.

2. Restriction on Service and Sale of Alcohol and Adult-Use Cannabis During
Mandatory Closing Period

Effective at 12:01 AM on November 6, 2020, the following restrictions shall apply to the
service and sale of alcohol and the sale of adult-use cannabis:

Service and Sale of Alcohol. During the daily mandatory closing period established in
Section 1, no person, business, organization, establishment, premises, or service holding or
operating under a license issued pursuant to Chapter 138 or Chapter 23K of the General Laws
may sell or serve or provide alcohol of any kind to any person anywhere in the Commonwealth.
This restriction applies, without limitation, to all retailers, restaurants, private clubs, catering
halls, events, and delivery services licensed to offer alcohol service or retail sale pursuant to
Chapter 138 or, in the case of casinos, Chapter 23K.

This restriction shall not displace any provisions of Chapter 138 or Chapter 23K or of any
license issued under those authorities that may establish more restrictive limitations on the hours
during which a licensee may offer sale or service or provision of alcohol each day.

Retail Sale of Adult-Use Cannabis. During the daily mandatory closing period
established in Section 1, no individual, business, organization, establishment, premises, or entity
holding or operating under a marijuana retailer license issued pursuant to Chapter 94G of the
General Laws may sell adult-use cannabis or adult-use cannabis products of any kind to any
person anywhere in the Commonwealth.

For violations of the restrictions established in this Section, each individual sale or
delivery or service made during the mandatory closing period may be treated as a separate
violation for purposes of administering fines and other penalties.

3. Renewal of Chapter 138 Licenses by Establishments Remaining Closed During the

State of Emergency

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in section 12 of Chapter 138 of the General
Laws, the holder of a section 12 license that remains closed to the public during the state of




emergency shall be permitted to renew its section 12 license for 2021 pursuant to section 16A of
the same chapter with the benefit of the following allowances:

a. A licensee shall not be required to submit proof of having liquor liability
insurance, provided, however, that no licensee that has renewed its license under
this allowance may re-open to the public without first submitting to the licensing
authority proof of a current liquor liability insurance policy that names the
licensee as the insured and that otherwise meets the requirements of section 12.
No insurer, broker, agent, or their representative shall impose or collect any
surcharge penalty, fee, or other charge in addition to the premium for any liquor
liability insurance policy obtained under the terms of this allowance; and

b. A licensee shall not be required to submit proof of having a workers’
compensation insurance policy, provided, however, that (1) no licensee that has
renewed its license under this allowance shall have any payroll at the time of
renewal; and (2) no licensee that has renewed its license under this allowance
shall commence operations that involve employees or re-open to the public
without first providing satisfactory proof of workers’ compensation insurance as
required by a municipal licensing authority. No insurer, broker, agent, or their
representative shall impose or collect any surcharge penalty, fee, or other charge
in addition to the premium for any such workers’ compensation insurance policy
obtained under the terms of this allowance.

A rescission of this Order or a termination of the state of emergency shall not invalidate any
section 12 license that was renewed pursuant to this Section during the period in which this
Order was in effect.

4, Enforcement Provisions

The Department of Public Health, the Department of Labor Standards, local boards of
health and their authorized agents pursuant to G. L. c. 111, § 30, and State and municipal police
are authorized to enforce this Order. Violation of the restrictions adopted in Sections 1 or 2 of
this Order may result in a civil fine of up to $500 per violation as provided in St. 1950, c. 639, §
8, provided that any fine shall be administered in the manner provided for the non-criminal
disposition of violations of municipal by-law, ordinance, rule, or regulation pursuant to G. L. c.
40, § 21D. Each individual instance of non-compliance and each day of a continuing violation
may be fined as a separate violation.

This Order may also be enforced by injunction. A motion for an injunction to enforce
this Order may be filed in the district court or any other court of competent jurisdiction for the
municipality in which the violation has been charged.

The Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission or a local licensing authority may, after
notice to the licensee and a reasonable opportunity to be heard, suspend, revoke, or cancel a
license for the sale or service of alcoholic beverages or take other appropriate enforcement action
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upon satisfactory proof that the licensee has violated or permitted a violation of Section 1 or 2 of
this Order.

If any provision of this Order or the application thereof to any person, entity, or
circumstance is determined to be invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, such determination
shall not affect or impair the validity of the other provisions of this Order or its application to
other persons, entities, and circumstances.

Sections 1 and 2 of this Order are effective at 12:01 AM on November 6, 2020, and
Section 3 is effectively immediately. This Order shall remain in effect until rescinded or until
the state of emergency is ended, whichever occurs first.

Given in Boston at [ 49 A\\@his 2nd
day of November, two thousandand twenty

Ll Wmf

CHARLES D. BAKER
GOVERNOR
Commonwealth of Massachusetts




